This is me.

Hi there.  My name is Christine.  I live in Rochester, New York.  When it isn’t snowing here, it can be a pretty great place.  I think this might be my last year in this particular city, so I’m going to work hard to document it.  Although the month of February is probably not the best time of the year to start this sort of a blog, there is little else to do on these cold winter nights.

A little bit about me, in case you don’t know:

I live with my boyfriend, Daniel.  He puts up with all of my shenanigans and is all around a really cool guy.  Unlike many young men his age, he has some real talents.  I’m talking about his musical skills on various instruments including, but not limited to, the guitar, the ukulele, and any number of synthesizers.  He works at a comic book store on Park Avenue here in Rochester, which is very convenient since he is an avid collector.  He also happens to be a fantastic chef.  But his true passion is religion, which he studies at the University of Rochester.  He had a blog on wordpress.com a little over a year ago.   http://2guys2beards2.wordpress.com/.  Maybe you saw it.  He grew a beard over a 100-day period.  It was pretty impressive.

Enough about him, for now.  I’m a molecular genetics major, although you would never know that if you were to follow me around this year.  During the 2010 – 2011 academic year, I’m participating in a scholarship program called Take 5, which is unique to the University of Rochester.  I am taking only American Sign Language classes.  Some people ask me “How many sign language classes can there possibly be?”  Well, how many English or Spanish or French classes could there be?  Yes, I’m taking the stereotypical language class, but I’m also taking classes called “ASL Poetry” and “The History and Culture of the Deaf Community”.  Another frequently asked question is something to the effect of “Are all of your classes really in sign language?”  The answer is yes, and all of my teachers are Deaf.

I will leave you with a picture from the George Eastman House Museum.  I visited the museum/home of the founder of Kodak for the first time on Saturday.  If you ever have the opportunity, his mansion is definitely worth visiting.

Also...an elephant.

George Eastman's Conservatory

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

