A great man once said

“It’s the freakin’ weekend baby, I’m about to have me some fun.”  That great man?  It was R. Kelly.

Ah, Thursday.  Thursdays are special for me this semester.  Why, you ask?  Because this semester “Thursday” actually means “Friday”.  And “Friday” means “extra day off”.  I finally did the smart thing this semester.  The thing most people start doing during their sophomore year at the University of Rochester.  I finally arranged my schedule so that I have no classes and no work on Fridays.  That’s a three-day weekend, every weekend.  It makes the four days during the week a little bit longer, but it’s entirely worth it when Sunday evening rolls around and I actually feel well-rested and ready to begin the week again.  I know I should not become accustomed to this, because when I start working at a real job this summer, three-day weekends will cease to exist.  However, until then, I will take advantage of it.

The only problem I have encountered with having this three-day weekend is that everybody else is still working on Fridays.  First, this makes them resent me.  Second, when Daniel and I go to the gym on Friday mornings, I can’t park my car in Library Lot because a permit is required during the week, until the evening hours.  So this forces me to park in Park Lot, which just makes the trip to the gym longer.  Normally, this would be a great way for me to do a little warm-up walk around campus before performing some heavy-duty cardio, but when it is in the negative digits because of the wind chill, it makes walking around in any gym clothes and sneakers really unpleasant.  Now that it has started warming up around here, I hope it will not be such an issue.

My random photo for today:

 

“Genuine Bull Durham Tobacco”

This photo was taken in January during my visit to Durham, NC.  I was visiting Daniel and his family during the New Year celebration.  I planned to take a series of photos around the city, but this ended up being the only shot of the city that I took during this particular trip.  Unfortunately, there seemed to be some glare happening at the time, so I need to re-take this.  However, I will be going back to Durham in just 2 and 1/2 weeks and can continue my quest then.  It should be very warm and very sunny, and so I am very excited.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

