The Great Thaw of 2011

It looked and felt like spring around Rochester today.  Temperatures even got into the 50s (F), which is pretty rare for this time of year.  I snapped a picture of the Eastman quad, and you will notice that most of the snow is gone and it was a beautiful, sunny day (mostly).

We didn't even need to heat the apartment last night!
Green grass! Blue skies! Sun! How can it be?

I tried to get a picture of the chapel behind me, but my camera died.

Today was Career and Internship Day on campus.  I talked to a few potential employers, including Adarza BioSystems, which sounds like it would be ideal for me.  It would be a laboratory job and it would give me great work experience.  We shall see what happens with that.  I also spoke with a woman from Planned Parenthood, but they are only offering unpaid internships, which would be great except that I do have to pay rent, etc.  So that’s out.  The only other table I visited was that for a branch of Americorps, called City Year.  Basically, I would spend a year in a public school tutoring and mentoring kids.  I would get a stipend, some money to pay off loans, and possibly scholarship money towards graduate school.  So that sounded like an amazing option, and I’ve thought about applying to Americorps in the past.  Unfortunately, there are really no City Year locations near Rochester.  I would probably have to move to New York City for a year.  Part of the reason I am taking this year off is not just to get work experience before grad school, but also to stay in Rochester with Daniel until he graduates.  Obviously I need to keep on looking.  A lot of the employers that attended were looking for various engineers.  That’s just not me.

The hunt continues.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

