Perhaps I spoke too soon.

Yesterday I posted a beautiful picture of the Eastman Quad on the University of Rochester’s River Campus.  It was sunny, warm, and most of the snow had melted, leading me to believe that perhaps winter, for the most part, was over.  Not true.  Last night and this morning it snowed heavily.  I would estimate that we got at least 2-3 inches of accumulation.  I snapped these photos during an afternoon stroll with Daniel.

Francis Parker No. 23

A bear with a book.

He actually looks like he's crawling out from underneath the snow.

An appropriately placed penguin.

But, today I am not here to discuss Rochester’s schizophrenic weather patterns.  This post is all about the animated show that aired briefly on MTV from 2002 – 2003 called Clone High.  Daniel and I are watching the first and only season again.  This is probably the fourth time we have watched it together, and I tried to get my sister to watch it a couple of months ago.  She was not having any of it.  It was a brilliant show, co-created by Bill Lawrence, who also created the well-known show Scrubs.

I did not become aware of the show’s existence until I got to college.  This is strange because when I was 14-15 years old, I watched a lot of MTV.  A lot.  So it came as a surprise to me when, in October of 2008, Daniel summoned me to his dorm room (before we were dating) to watch an episode of this television series of which I have no memory.  It was absolutely hilarious.  I could remember my friend Haley Wynn mentioning it before, during my sophomore year.  When I lived in the dorms as a sophomore, I would often venture into the room next to mine, and while Haley did not live in that particular room, she was always there.  I would find her sitting with her computer on her lap, watching episodes of Clone High, but I neither watched it with her, nor ever really caught a glimpse of the show.

The premise of the show is that a number of famous and inspirational leaders from the past have been dug up and their DNA cloned to create a clone army for the Board of Shadowy Figures who work for the government.  These clones include Abraham Lincoln, Cleopatra, John F. Kennedy, Joan of Arc, and the most controversial character, Gandhi.  (Other minor characters include Marie Curie, Katherine the Great, Julius Caesar, Jesus Cristo, George Washington Carver, etc.)  They are all attending the same high school (Clone High) at the peak of their awkward, horny, emotional, hormonal teenage years.  Episodes include scenarios like JFK versus Abe Lincoln for student body president, a greater awareness of A.D.D. after Gandhi is diagnosed with it, and the death of JFK’s best friend, Ponce de Leon, due to littering.  And the entire time, Joan of Arc is in love with Abe, Abe is in love with Cleopatra, Cleopatra is in an on-again/off-again relationship with JFK, and JFK is just trying to bone all of the girls in the high school.  It included guest stars like Andy Dick, Michael J. Fox, Marilyn Manson, Tom Green, Jack Black, Ashley Angel (formerly of O-Town), Mandy Moore, Luke Perry, Zach Braff, and Donald Faison, along with most of the other actors affiliated with the show Scrubs.

This past December, during Hanukkah, Daniel bought me the first and only season of Clone High on DVD.  Prior to this, we have only been able to watch some bootlegged episodes on my computer.  Since we watch it so frequently, it’s great that we finally have it on DVD and can watch it on a real television.  If you have never seen the series, I highly recommend it.

Here is a clip from the episode titled “Sleep of Faith: La Rue D’Awakening”.  In this episode, Abe has stayed up for a number of consecutive nights in order to help Cleopatra prepare for the PXJTs.  Now he and JFK are about to enter into a car race to determine who will date Cleopatra.  Joan and Gandhi have tried to convince Abe not to race, out of fear that he is risking his life.  Who will win the race, therefore winning the affection of Cleopatra?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

