Spring Break Day 1

Of my list of Top 10 Favorite Things to Do in Durham, today I have taken a walk through Brightleaf, enjoyed the warm weather while sipping a Dr Pepper, saw the shops along Ninth Street, and eaten a sandwich from Jimmy John’s.  I also watched the Duke/UNC game, although I could not attend.  (I was also pretty disappointed that they lost in such a big way.)  So far, I’ve officially completed 3 and 1/2 of the items on the list.  That’s not too bad.

Overally, today was a great day.  I woke up and Daniel’s father had made some tasty breakfast.  I walked outside wearing just a sweatshirt and was more than comfortable.  Daniel and I decided to go for a walk, along with his littlest sister Nicole.  I’m thinking about interviewing her for this blog.  It would have to be a filmed interview, because she is so much better in person.

We just wandered around parts of downtown.  The Farmer’s Market here is already pretty lively; there was a bluegrass band playing when we got there, and lots of people milling around.

 

Farmer's Market Bluegrass Band

It’s obviously a city that caters to hipsters and white people.

A cool little bridge in Durham's Central Park

 

Durham is already blooming.

After our stroll, we went a few blocks up the street with Daniel’s mom for an Open House.  I’m completely smitten with all of the old houses on this street, including the one in which Daniel’s family currently resides.

Tomorrow is supposed to be rainy, but according to my weather widget it will still be a full 30 degrees (F) warmer here than in Rochester.  I’m looking forward to it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

