Spring Break Day 3

I was able to visit Duke Gardens this morning, which was number 8 on my list of Top 10 Favorite Things to Do in Durham.  The weather was perfect, if not a little chilly for my taste.  Daniel and I decided we would walk over to the gardens and then meet his mom at her office for lunch.  Her office is actually just southeast of the bottom edge of the gardens.  So we wandered around, all the while snapping shots of the few plants that were in bloom.  We only got to explore 1/2 of the gardens before we ran out of time and had to meet his mother at Admissions, at which point she drove us back to their house and we proceeded to chow down on grilled ham and cheese sandwiches and tomato soup.  I hope on Thursday, when it is supposed to be even warmer, we can finish walking through the other 1/2 of the gardens.  I think we are planning to walk through American Tobacco tomorrow.

I was thrilled to be able to go for a short bike ride today.  I think mostly we just wanted to get a couple of the bikes out of the shed, pump up the tires, and test out the bikes.  I hope later this week we will go on a more serious bike ride around Durham.

Until then, here are some shots taken today, in Duke Gardens.

We took a lot of these "macro" shots of flowers.

 

This photo looks amazing enlarged. You can see droplets of liquid that have accumulated in the flower.

I have to give credit to Daniel for the above photo.  I think it might be my favorite in the bunch.

 

A cool little bridge in the gardens.

 

Another cool bridge.

 

 

Terraces.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

