Meliora Moments and Anxiety

I think it is natural that I’m suffering from a little bit of anxiety right now.  I’m going through a huge transition phase in my life.  This is exciting, but really scary.  I will be graduating from college in just over a month.  I remember when I first walked through the doors of my freshman dorm, Susan B. Anthony Hall.

 

I lived here.

I was the most excited I had ever been about anything.  The fit felt perfect, and I thrived.  I thought hoped it would never end.  My undergraduate experience was phenomenal, except for a few hiccups.  I loved most of the classes I took, but naturally my favorites were all of the biology classes.  After completing more than half of my sophomore year and debating between a degree in Biochemistry or Molecular Genetics, I decided genetics was a better option for me.

Now, I am about to graduate.  I have my first job interview on Thursday for a lab in the UR Medical Center.  This is causing me a great deal of anxiety.  I keep asking myself “What if I don’t get the job?  What if I do get the job?!”  At the same time, I’m very excited for the changes that are about to happen.  I am going to graduate with a Bachelor’s degree, the first in my immediate family to do so.  It’s just a little overwhelming when you are trying to find a job, study for the GRE, and coordinate everything that needs to be done before my graduation, in addition to regular weekly class stuff.  But, as with everything else in my life, I know that I will get everything done on time and I will be okay.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

