My Last Undergraduate Classes

Yesterday was the last day of classes for the semester.  It was also my last day of undergraduate classes ever.  On Tuesday, when I walked out of my last Sociolinguistics of ASL class, I followed my usual route through the tunnels from the Meliora Building to the library.  I walked up the stairs from the tunnels, and this bizarre feeling washed over me.  It was the realization that it was the last time I would be walking through that tunnel to my next class.

My next class was low-key.  But when I saw Guillaume, I just knew it wouldn’t be the last I saw of him.  And it wasn’t; yesterday I had a meeting with Ted Supalla and Guillaume was in his office…watching the last video I’d sent to him, “One Fine Day”.  Some of you may have heard of the story about a fox who stole a woman’s milk, so she cut off his tail until he gave her milk back.  That was our final assignment for the ASL Literature class with him.  I will probably see him around, because I’ve learned that he is one teacher that you just can’t escape.

Normally, on the last day of classes, I would have some big exam in a biology or physics class…but yesterday we just had a review in Ted’s class.  And that was it.  Nothing.  It was just over, and I walked out.  I have no finals for which I will need to return to campus.  My time spent in those classrooms is truly over.

I feel sad, but excited about the future.  I’m leaving behind this great place, where I have met so many amazing people, and I hope that new adventures will bring me as much happiness as my time at the University of Rochester has brought me.  Despite all of the school’s flaws (and every school has flaws), I wouldn’t be who I am today without the UR.

Rush Rhees and The Eastman Quad.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

