Restoring My iBook G4

I’ve mentioned it before, but in case you missed it:  I’ve been planning to restore my iBook G4 for a while.  It’s been sitting in my old bedroom at my parents’ house for a couple of years now, not being used.  I did a stupid thing and tried to install Leopard onto it.  It worked for a while, and then got really slow.  I realized (maybe) it was because Leopard was designed for Intel PCs and my iBook only had a PowerPC.  So I’d bought a new computer (with a built-in iSight camera!!) and turned my once-trusty iBook off indefinitely.  Well, “indefinitely” lasted  until yesterday.

I did another stupid thing too.  On Friday, I argued and argued with mother about where my Tiger installation disks were.  She tore apart my old room, all while I assured her over the phone that I would never do something so stupid as to bring them here without having the computer with which they came.  Then I looked in a drawer in our study and, lo and behold, there they were.  I apologized to my mother, don’t worry.

What really inspired me to do it was this post that I StumbledUpon weeks ago.  I tried to reset my  PRAM, but I don’t think I did it correctly.  I don’t think it really mattered since I was doing an Erase and Install for Tiger anyway.

After almost an hour, it finished installing and…everything seems to work fine.  It’s not as quick as my MacBook, but it’s also a lot faster running Tiger than Leopard.

I think they're eyeing each other...

Different.

It's like that movie...Back To The Future.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Restoring My iBook G4

  1. MAC POWERPC June 1, 2011 at 4:10 pm Reply

    Nice iBook!

  2. attentionreader June 1, 2011 at 4:23 pm Reply

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

