Opa!

Daniel and I have been looking forward to the Greek Festival pretty much since the last one ended.  Although I know of others held around the city, this particular one is held on East Avenue at the Greek Orthodox Church of the Annunciation.

I was so happy because our friend Lisa was able to come over and join us for the festival.  She drove to our apartment, I gave her a brief tour, and then we walked over to East Avenue.

When you first approach the festival, this is what you see. I had no idea that these giant blow-up people that you see at car dealerships were such an integral part of Greek Orthodoxy.

(On a side note:  Where does one purchase these?  And how did they find one that was Greek?!)

We proceeded to gorge ourselves on Greek food.  Lisa and I ordered a gyro sandwich, but they mistakenly gave us loukaniko pitas, which is basically the same thing, but has sausage instead of chopped pieces of meat.  I liked it better, and it was easier to eat.  Daniel also got a 1/2 chicken dinner, which included rice and salad.  I got spanakopita as a side.  It was fantastic.  We may even go back this weekend.

For dessert, we all had baklava.  This is probably one of my all-time favorite desserts (but let’s be real, what isn’t?) and theirs was phenomenal.

I left with a full tummy and a smile on my face.  And I was able to experience some Greek music and dance.  What more could I want?

Music! Dance! It's a festival!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

