“Write About Anything”

These were the words of advice Daniel gave me as he left to take a shower.  It’s not so much that I have writer’s block; it’s more like every moment of my life is scheduled right now, and during the week I just don’t have fun things to write about.  Today I went to work for 8 and 1/2 hours.  It becomes an excruciatingly long time when you have very little to do.  I interviewed some undergraduates for a position in the lab.  It’s difficult explaining tasks when I have yet to perform any of the procedures myself.  Because my lab space was abandoned for nearly 3 months, no one paid attention to the reagents or supplies that had run out since the last lab technician left.  And by “no one”, I mean the principal investigator.  So, with no one (and this time I mean it literally, no one) to train me or show me around, I’ve spent the last couple of weeks ordering supplies that should have already been there, and finding my way around the 4 different rooms in which I will be working.  I am so anxious to begin actual work.  As far as I can tell, I’ve ordered everything I will need, so now I must sit and wait…and wait…and wait.

Hard at work.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

