“In cheerleading we throw people into the air. And fat people don’t go as high.”

Daniel’s mother and youngest sister finally arrived in town this afternoon.  I’m very happy they made it, and it’s great having them here.  After playing some Zombie Fluxx, Daniel and I took them to the comic store for the Kidrobot trading party.  Daniel bought Nicole some early birthday gifts, his mom bought Pirate Fluxx, and I bought my sister a late birthday gift.  It doesn’t count against me since I haven’t seen her since May…right?

After dinner, Nicole and I went to the Dryden Theater to see Bring It On.  It premiered in 2000 and is the first in the franchise.  So, in other words, this movie premiered when Nicole was just over 1 month old 1 year old.  In contrast, I was just about to enter 7th grade.  Since I understand that this movie is satire, it continues to amuse me to this day.  It was fun to spend the evening watching this “classic” film with her.  She’s a hoot.

What would a "cheerocracy" look like?

I’ll leave you with a quote from the film:

I am a choreographer.  That’s what I do.  You are cheerleaders.  Cheerleaders are dancers who have gone retarded. What you do is a tiny, pathetic subset of dancing.  I will attempt to turn your robotic routines into poetry, written with the human body.  Follow me, or perish, sweater monkeys.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

