Independence Day

Yesterday already feels much farther away than it actually is.  It was good to see my family.  All of the regulars were there, like my parents, Kelly, and Dillon, but I also got to briefly visit with my grandmother, my aunt Colleen and uncle Jamie.  I haven’t seen them in months. Colleen’s and Jamie’s daughter just had a baby, so I got to see pictures of him.  Jamie spent most of the time detailing my dad’s truck and Kelly’s car.  He wanted to play guitar with Daniel; I hope it happens in the near future, since they didn’t have a chance to jam this time.

Nate, Lori, and the three kids also made it.  I was not expecting to see Paige again so soon after meeting her on Sunday, but it was wonderful.  She’s a very chill baby.  I’m going to say it now: that’s the best kind of baby.

Even my uncle Alan stopped by our house, and I haven’t seen him in years.

We ate burgers and hot dogs, played more Kan Jam, and generally enjoyed the weather until Daniel and I had to leave around 2:30pm to come back to Rochester.

Overall, it was a really nice weekend, and I’m so happy I got to see everyone.  My only complaint is that I was not able to sleep as much as I would have liked.  My parents have a wretchedly uncomfortable futon that has a slight slope to it, so if Daniel and I try to sleep on it, we kind of just fall towards each other in the middle.  Other than that, it was a fine weekend.

This was taken in Unadilla. You know, so you can park your horse.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

