Top 10 Favorite Snack Foods

I’ve been thinking about writing this post for a while.  It’s pretty random, but I’ve been thinking about my eating habits a lot lately, particularly when it comes to snack foods.  Below are my vices favorites.

10.  Popcorn

It’s really fast and easy, it’s crunchy, salty and buttery…what is there not to like about it?  Daniel is a popcorn fiend.  Whenever we sit down to watch a movie or a TV show, he insists on making some popcorn.  I used to be pretty lukewarm to the stuff, but now I love it.

9.  Potato Chips

Once again, I never really loved potato chips until recently.  I always thought they were too salty.  But there is nothing better than sitting down with a sandwich and enjoying a few crunchy chips with it.  Of course, this post isn’t about side dishes; it’s about snack food.  So occasionally I will just grab a handful and eat them because they’re delicious.

8.  Cheez-its

They are my greatest weakness in this life, and always have been.  I’m more immune to the power of chocolate than I am to these crunchy cheese-flavored crackers.

7.  Yogurt

Hey, look.  A healthy snack!  I love yogurt.  While I love all yogurt, I really do prefer plain or vanilla.  I don’t need it to be fancy.

6.  Raisins

I love raisins.  I used to hate them enough to avoid them and any foods with raisins in them.  As I’ve grown older, my tastes have changed.  I’ll say it again:  I love raisins.  But my favorite are the chocolate-covered variety.

5.  Nuts

Nuts are good.  Another salty food.  Come to think of it, it doesn’t seem like there are many snack foods that aren’t salty or crunchy.  I think that’s what makes a snack food a snack food.

4.  Doritos

Like Cheez-its, they are a weakness.  I haven’t had Doritos in probably over a year now, but I still think about them…often.

3.  Fruit

I love fruit, and it’s a great snack food.  I live in upstate New York, so I’m already gearing up for the fall when I can go apple-picking.  Apples are probably my favorite fruit, with grapes a close second.  But when it comes to fruit, I like almost anything: oranges, pears, grapefruit, clementines, strawberries, bananas, kiwis, pineapple…I think I’ll stop there.

2.  Corn chips and salsa

Why, I’m eating some right now.  But don’t tell Daniel because we are about to head to Matt’s and Jessica’s for Taco Tuesday.  He wouldn’t want me to spoil my appetite like that.  I think of it more as priming myself for more “Mexican” food later!

1.  Cereal and milk

This is hardly considered a “snack food”, but I couldn’t help but include it because I actually look for excuses to eat cereal.  Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day if for no other reason than eating cereal is most acceptable at that time.  I go to bed thinking “Tomorrow might suck, but at least it’s another day I can eat cereal!”.  I like to have a variety in the house, so if I am craving a sweet cereal, I can eat Wegman’s Graham Squares or Honey Wheels.  But if I want something less sweet (but still pretty sweet), I can eat things like Cheerios or Rice Crispies.

I’m surprised nothing with peanut butter made the cut.  What are some of your favorite snack foods?

Wine doesn't count as a snack food right? Because that would drastically change this list.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Top 10 Favorite Snack Foods

  1. kat July 29, 2011 at 4:52 pm Reply

    Great list! Chips and salsa is definitely my fave snack food too! I did a salsa recipe, if you have time please check it out and let me know what you think. http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/2011/07/27/sex-in-your-mouth-salsa/. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

