Hooky

Daniel skipped work today so he could sleep late and spend the day with me.  He slept until almost noon, then we went out to lunch at Sinbad’s.  We haven’t been there since the beginning of the summer, when his mom and sister visited.  I finally decided to get the dolma pita.  It changed my life.  Usually we get the dolmas as appetizers and they are my favorite thing on the menu.  I just assumed that I would then be disappointed with the dolma pita.  How wrong I was.  They just took the same dolmas from the appetizer and wrapped them in a toasted pita with some other delicious veggies and sauces.  So it was like the appetizer but on steroids.  I’m getting hungry thinking about it.

After lunch we went to campus so I could mail a package to my sister and pick up some movies to watch from the Multimedia Center.  Daniel chose Meet the Parents, and we both agreed upon The Phantom of the Opera.  We watched Meet the Parents this afternoon, which Daniel had never seen before.  It’s another movie whose comedy is based on an awkward character (Ben Stiller’s Greg Focker) and uncomfortable moments (that time that he spray-painted a cat’s tail or set the yard on fire) that result from just trying to impress a girl’s father.  I don’t know if Daniel found it very funny.

Game Night at the comic store was kind of a bust tonight.  Matt decided to play HeroClix, which neither Daniel nor I play.  We decided to play Killer Bunnies.  I destroyed him.  It wasn’t really fun for either one of us.  I felt bad about killing all of his bunnies while I had 10 of my own, one of which was essentially immortal.  I don’t think we will play that one again for a little while.

Then we took a very long walk around the neighborhood and discussed what we want to get out of life.  Just another Wednesday night.

One of our many epic walks. Picture courtesy of my sister Kelly.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

