Jogging

I’ve taken up jogging (again).  I’ve gone out 6 days in the past two weeks.  This is very good, considering for a few months, I was going 0 days per week.  I can do 1.6 miles without too much difficulty, but if I try to go much farther, I get pretty winded.  Today I did about 1.77 miles.

My route and my playlist go like this:  I listen to Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” while I do a warm-up walk from the apartment to the intersection of Harvard and Barrington.  As soon as N*Sync’s “Bye Bye Bye” comes on, I start jogging.  At the intersection of Barrington and Canterbury, I make a left turn and jog all the way to the intersection of Canterbury and Harvard.  By the time I’ve reached this intersection, The Backstreet Boys’ “The Call” has just finished and Christina Aguilera’s “Dirrty” has begun.  I’m just going to say right now that “Dirrty” is an essential workout playlist song.  I jog along Harvard, past Vassar, Barrington, Westminister and Dartmouth.  Right around the intersection of Harvard and Dartmouth is when MGMT’s “Electric Feel” begins to play.  That song feels endless; don’t put it on a workout playlist.  I listen to that as I jog past Dartmouth, Rutgers and Oxford.  Somewhere between Oxford and Goodman, Cyndi Lauper’s “The Goonies ‘R’ Good Enough” begins, and I listen to that until I get to the intersection of Goodman and Park and continue on to Park and Oxford listening to N*Sync’s “I Want You Back”.

I feel like I can’t really change my playlist at this point because I’ve used it enough that it helps me keep time and establish my pace.  I worry that if I were to add or subtract or rearrange, I might throw off my routine.  I’m having fun with it though, and, dare I say, I’m even beginning to look forward to it.  I know it’s not far nor long, but I’m working my way up.  You have to start somewhere, and I used to hate jogging or running.  I preferred going to the gym and using the ellipticals or the bikes.  Anything to avoid actually jogging or running.  Whenever the weather is good and it’s warm enough, I force myself to get out there.  I do have to be careful though; sometimes, during my cool down walk, my knee feels a little sore, and when I first began a couple of weeks ago my heel was killing me.

I think this might be the only photo I have that has me in a position where I look like I might be running. It was taken on a disastrous corn maze expedition. Photo courtesy of Betsy Reed.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

