Is This Thing On?

It’s been a while since I last posted anything in this blog.  Life is never not crazy, so I can’t really use that as an excuse.  However, I will  briefly describe what’s been going on in my life since I last posted in October.

First, I moved to North Carolina last month.  I am living in Durham, which is where I’ve wanted to be since Daniel brought me here during Spring Break 3 years ago.  I’m currently working for a company called LabCorp, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far.  My job entails looking at human cells in metaphase, often from the bone marrow of cancer patients.  Right now, I am memorizing how the 26 pairs of chromosomes look after they have been stained, and then it is my job to karyotype them using fancy computer programs that allow you to look at a picture of a cell in metaphase, cut out the chromosomes, and arrange them by chromosome number.

At the moment, I am living with Daniel’s parents until he and I sign a lease on a townhouse and move in around June.  His parents have been extremely gracious to allow me to stay here, eat their food, and bum around their house on the weekends.  I will certainly miss the large bedroom I currently reside in after we move to a smaller one in the coming months.  Daniel is, of course, still in Rochester until he graduates in May.  That is the worst part of this whole arrangement.  Yes, I am exactly where I want to be, but without Daniel it just feels incomplete.

So, you might ask why I chose today to take up blogging again.  I keep telling Daniel and some other friends that I will keep them updated while I am away.  And today was the annual Make-A-Wish Foundation’s Walk For Wishes.  Daniel’s father now works for the Make-A-Wish Foundation, so I was happy when I was volunteered to participate in this awesome event.  I even managed to receive a few donations myself.  It was a fun event, and we somehow managed to make it through the entire 5k without it raining.  At the end, Daniel’s father was there to greet everybody dressed as a clown.  He had made some deal (about which I don’t have all the details) where if he raised a certain amount of money, he would dress as a clown during the event.  I thought that was brilliant, and added a little bit more incentive.  Naturally, I have pictures and wanted to show them to the 2 people that read my blog world.

For the record, that is indeed a Katy Perry wig you are seeing.

Wait, this is a charity event, not a comic convention...right?

Now that I am officially blogging again, here is what’s up.  I’m probably not going to update everyday, like I tried to do last year.  It’s too much for me to handle.  Posts require a lot of time.  I wasn’t giving this blog the love it deserves when I was updating with “nothing posts” so frequently.  I will try to keep it regular, but not daily.  But I will keep up with it.  It feels good to be back.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

