Some Exciting News

Last night I heard from the landlord Adam about moving into our apartment (townhouse?).  Originally, he had given us the date of June 1, but changed it and said that the space should be ready around May 15.  This is perfect because Daniel will actually be in Durham during that time and we can start moving some of our things into our new home.

Naturally, because I’m a woman, I love to decorate or design the spaces in which I will be living.  My first obstacle is the bedroom.  Daniel and I are getting a really basic bed frame from his parents’ house.  It does not have a headboard, so I’m trying to think of cool things to do in lieu of a headboard.  I’ve seen some interesting ideas on both Pinterest and Apartment Therapy, like painting words or a picture where the headboard would be, but realistically I can’t paint something on the wall, since we are renting.  I do love the idea of this:

A wood pallet headboard from Apartment Therapy.

But I think we would need something a little more…lightweight?  I also would love some creative ideas for night stands.  Suggestions are encouraged.

The other two “bedrooms” upstairs will serve as a study/work area and a music/comic room, respectively.  We just need to acquire more bookshelves for these rooms.  The music/comic room will also have a guest bed or a futon in it.  Basically, a place where guests will be able to live comfortably, provided Daniel doesn’t fill it to the ceiling with his collection of instruments and comics.

Since we are upgrading from 1 tiny closet of a bathroom to 2 and 1/2 bathrooms, bathroom space will not be a problem.  I’ve already decided I’m just going to use one full bath as my own and put all of my junk in it, and he can use the other for whatever bathroom things men have.  I really don’t know what you guys use, because when I moved all of my stuff out of the bathroom in Rochester, it was pretty much bare.

If there’s enough room in the kitchen, we would love to get a small island, or at least something that can be used as additional counter space.  If there is one thing I’ve learned, it doesn’t matter if you live in a tiny apartment or a three story house with two kitchens, there is never enough counter space.

Finally, the living room.  It is definitely bigger than what we had in Rochester, but I have no idea how to set it up.  For that, I’m going to have to wait until I can actually see the space and figure out how much room we have.

Obviously once we move in there will be lots of pictures.  We are just a short stroll from downtown and the farmer’s market in Central Park.  I’m sure we will be taking advantage of that very often.  Plus, there is a new coffee shop opening up just a block or two from where we will be living.  Not to mention Fullsteam and Geer Street Garden, both right in the neighborhood.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Some Exciting News

  1. […] Back in April, I announced that Daniel and I had received an official answer from the landlord regarding the lease signing, etc.  This isn’t news, but I did write extensively about how I wanted to set up the apartment, and how I was trying to be all crafty with our headboard, especially since I’d been seeing so many cool ideas on Pinterest.  While I do not have photos of the entire apartment, Daniel did manage to capture a few shots of our “headboard”, and I wanted to share them with you.  Also, I think he did a wonderful job mounting it.  Don’t you think? Do you recognize it? How about now? I will give you a hint. This is a close-up. It’s a map of North Carolina! […]

Leave a Reply

