June Favorites

So I’m taking inspiration for this post from some of the people to which I subscribe on Youtube.  Let’s discuss some of my favorite things for this month.

TV Shows

This month I started watching Roswell.  For those who don’t know, Roswell was a show that aired on the WB (now the CW) from 1999 until 2001, at which point it apparently moved to the UPN for the last season, according to Wikipedia.  The show is about three teenagers who happen to be aliens and, of course, landed in Roswell, New Mexico where the popped out of pods as 6-year-old kids.  They are now 16- or 17-year-olds going to high school and trying to keep their secret from the government.  Most of the episodes revolve around the normal teenage angsty things common in WB/CW shows, but they also focus on the three kids trying to discover where they came from, so that one day they may be able to go back to their home.  They have no idea why they landed here, but they also know they were not the first aliens to pop out of the pods; there is at least one other roaming around that they have not identified yet.  For me, the show is purely nostalgic, since I watched it from the beginning when it premiered.

Music

Daniel and I purchased a copy of The Essential Hall & Oates 2 disc extravaganza earlier this month.  It has all of their major hits, and a few other gems that I didn’t even know existed.  We love our Hall & Oates.  All month we’ve been listening to them in the car, in the apartment, and at work.  Also, if you’ve never watch their video for “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)”, then…well, you just have to watch it:

It’s the most ’80s thing I’ve ever seen.

It’s just good pop music from the late ’70s through the mid ’80s.  I don’t really know what else to say about it.  Some of my co-workers were recently hating on them, but I just love them so much.  They even do an amazing Righteous Brothers cover.

I personally have also been listening to a ton of Alkaline Trio this month.  I’ve especially been appreciating their 2001 album From Here to Infirmary, but my library includes their self-titled album, Goddamnit, Maybe I’ll Catch Fire, the BYO Split Series they did with One Man Army, and Good Mourning (the first album I’d obtained by Alkaline Trio).

This month I also randomly started listening to my Rock Against Bush Vol. 1 album again, which I haven’t listen to in full since probably 2006.  It’s the best compilation album I’ve ever heard.  I think I started listening to it again because it contained Alkaline Trio’s “Warbrain”.  I often enjoyed it in the car, loudly, with the windows down.  This was an album that I estimate I listened to on repeat for 3 or 4 months straight when I first picked it up.

Books

Daniel and I FINALLY finished The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson.  We started the first book in the series in January, so it was good to finally be finished 6 months later.  They were interesting, but neither one of us loved Salander’s character very much.  I think we both agreed that Blomqvist was much more interesting and literally had sex with 80-90% of the female characters in the books.  The guy was a badass.  It’s no wonder that they cast Daniel Craig in the movie, the same actor who played James Bond in two films.

Nail Polish

This month I’ve been wearing 2 colors that I absolutely love:

OPI’s “Just Spotted The Lizard”. It’s a gorgeous green/gold duochrome polish.

“Just Spotted the Lizard” is from OPI’s The Amazing Spider-Man Collection, which is obviously to gear up for the movie premiering on Tuesday of this week.  This was the only polish from this limited edition collection that I bought, and apparently it’s a dupe for Chanel’s “Peridot” (or so I’ve heard from other people on the ‘net).  I didn’t think I’d actually be able to get my hands on it, since I decided I wanted it 2 weeks after the collection debuted.  The Ulta at South Point only had 2 bottles left, which I had to ask for since there were none left up front.  I got extremely lucky.  If you want a limited edition color, you should probably pick it up as soon as it comes out.  FYI.

Wet ‘n Wild’s “Dreamy Poppy”. I don’t have great lighting to work with.

“Dreamy Poppy” is a Wet ‘n Wild color that I’ve had for years, but rarely used until this month.  It’s neon pink, and neons are pretty popular polish colors this summer.  For me, it’s a good toenail color.  While Wet ‘n Wild is cheap, this polish chipped incredibly fast and required 3 coats for it to be opaque.  These are certainly some of the reasons I don’t use it very often.  But I do love the color.

Makeup

I’ve been using the Urban Decay Rollergirl palette for almost all of June.  Particularly, I’ve been using the color “Suspect”, which I usually just smear on my lids, add a little eyeliner and mascara, and go.  Typically, I put more effort into my makeup, but for the majority of this month I’ve been getting to work at 6am or earlier.  It’s really hard to do makeup when you can’t even open your eyes all the way because it’s so early.  I am not a morning person.  Under the circumstances I was pleased with the outcome, until I actually looked in a mirror at work 3 hours later and realized that a blind person probably could have done it better.  For those of you wondering, I believe “Suspect” is also part of their Naked 2 palette, which I do not own.  For more detailed information about the Rollergirl palette as well as a review, click here.  (Temptalia.com also happens to be run by a woman named Christine.  We are definitely not the same person.)

I’ve also been loving the NYX Slide On Eye Pencil eyeliners, except I cannot get my hands on the black pencil.  Ulta is constantly sold out.  I’ve heard a lot of people say they are dupes for the Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner pencils, but to me they seem even softer and possibly more pigmented.  (I haven’t tried to sharpen my NYX pencils yet.  It’s a good thing they are only $8 because I’m sure I’m going to lose half of the pencil in the process.)  You can find a great description and swatches here.  Right now, I only own 2 colors, but I hope to add to my collection soon.

Finally, for lipstick, I’ve been wearing Maybelline’s “Coral Crush”.  I don’t think this one was limited edition, but I’m not positive.  I bought it back in March and just started wearing it really often now that summer is here.  It’s a perfect coral-pink for me.  My only complaint is that it goes on a little sheer.  I actually bought their “Coral Carnation” at the same time, but it’s quite a bit more orange than “Coral Crush”.  Also, I think “Coral Carnation” was limited edition, but I might have those two backwards.

Due to the lighting, I think the “Coral Crush” label actually looks a bit more orange, but that is false.

Swatches. “Coral Crush” is on the left, “Coral Carnation” is on the right.

 Random Things

Daniel’s mom recently (accidentally) purchased a one-year membership to Amazon Prime.  Daniel and I have been taking advantage of it by utilizing the free streaming of numerous movies and TV shows available, including Roswell.  We also ordered season 1 of Bob’s Burgers and Super Paper Mario for the Wii (both of which I will probably discuss this month) and used the free 2-day shipping that comes with the membership.  If you are a frequent Amazon customer, it might be something you want to look into.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “June Favorites

  1. […] done one of these since June.  Oops.  So, if you didn’t read that one (which you can here), I will use this post as an opportunity to discuss all of my favorite things that I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

