July

It’s hard to summarize a month.  I certainly intended to update a few times throughout the month, but one day it was July 1, and the next it was August 1.  So, this month went by a little fast for me.  I think we had something going on every weekend.  July 4 found us at a small party in our backyard, thrown by our neighbor Max.  It consisted of beer and delicious grilled food.  Afterward, Daniel and I walked over to the Durham Bulls Athletic Park to watch fireworks.  That following weekend found us at a party at Luke and Carrie’s place.  As I’ve mentioned, Luke graduated from the University of Rochester and Carrie grew up in Pittsford, so they are very familiar with Rochester.  That was a fantastic party.  Our other neighbors Glenn and Mary were there, along with two of Mary’s sisters.  I learned that I’m really awesome at Flip Cup and that there is no way of knowing just how many back-up plans Big Boi has.  Luke and Carrie actually live right around the corner from Daniel’s best friend’s mom.  Speaking of Daniel’s best friend, we went out to dinner last week with Jeremiah, his girlfriend Mae, and his parents.  This is the second time we’ve gone out with them in the last two months, and they are good people.  We also met up with one of my co-workers, Nic, and his girlfriend Chelsea for drinks at Bull City Burger and Brewery.  Nic insisted on driving us to Sam’s Quik Shop, which used to be a run-of-the-mill gas station, but is now “Durham’s Craft Beer Specialty Store”.  I bought a beer on tap there while I browsed and got to keep the glass.  It was very cool, and they have every type of beer imaginable.

This past weekend was a bit more quiet; Daniel and I drove to the western part of the state to visit my grandmother, aunt, and uncle.  I found out all kinds of interesting things about my uncle, like how he has a meteorite collection and built a decorative water fountain from scratch.

As always, I will strive to update this thing more often during August.  I should have more time, since I will be on a lovely beach vacation in two weeks.  It’s the annual Baroff Family trip to Bald Head and I am so excited.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

