Top 10 Favorite Halloween Songs

So, how long has it been since I’ve done a “Top 10” post, guys?  Yeah, I can’t remember either.  Since Halloween is less than one week away, I thought I would share my Top 10 Favorite Halloween Songs, since I recently made a playlist revolving around the theme of Halloween.

10. Meat Loaf “Bat Out of Hell”

I feel like there were a couple of Meat Loaf songs that could have made the cut, and while all of Jim Steinman’s songs are epic (even a Bonnie Tyler song is on my Halloween playlist), the lyrics to “Bat Out of Hell” are perfect for Halloween:

“There’s evil in the air and there’s thunder in the sky
And a killer’s on the bloodshot streets
Oh and down in the tunnel where the deadly are rising
Oh I swear I saw a young boy
Down in the gutter
He was starting to foam in the heat”

I will also mention that the title has the word “bat” right in it, making it pretty appropriate for our theme.

9. My Chemical Romance “Vampires Will Never Hurt You”

I decided that any song in my iTunes that had the word “vampire” in the title or was about vampires was going to be included in my playlist.  Even My Chemical Romance.  Incidentally, this song matched that criteria perfectly.  In my defense, this was from their first album, which sounds vastly different (and better) than their later albums because they didn’t know how to write conventional songs back then.

8. HIM “Vampire Heart”

See the description for #9.  I haven’t actually listened to HIM in years, but I did include this song for those reasons stated above, and it’s not too terrible.  Just don’t look too closely at the lyrics.

7. Tiger Army “Santa Carla Twilight”

While this one didn’t have the word “vampire” right in the title, Santa Carla is a reference to the movie The Lost Boys, which is all about vampires, but without all of the sparkling and crying and bad acting.  Well, okay, there may have been some bad acting, but not Kristen Stewart-bad.  Also, I love Tiger Army.  I can’t get enough of them.  I wish Nick 13 would stop this nonsense with the country music and make another Tiger Army album.

6. “Phantom of the Opera”

I hate musicals, with very, very, very few exceptions.  Possibly just one, and that is Phantom of the Opera.  This particular selection has some epic organ happening, which to me says “perfect for Halloween”.

5. Creedence Clearwater Revival “I Put a Spell on You”

Just the other night I was lamenting to Daniel about how I didn’t have the Hocus Pocus/Bette Midler version of this song.  Truly, this one is better.  But Childhood ‘Stine still wishes she had it, nonetheless.

And really, thanks to Youtube, I can at least provide a link for the Hocus Pocus version.

4. Tiger Army “American Nightmare” (Misfits cover)

This is like killing two birds with one stone.  Literally, I could have made the entire list with just Misfits songs.

3. AFI “Fall Children”

This selection comes from AFI’s All Hallow’s EP, which actually includes a cover of The Misfits “Halloween”.  I admit that I am loving AFI right now, and part of the reason I made a Halloween playlist was so I could fill it with The Misfits and AFI (with some Tiger Army thrown in) and just listen to that all day at work.

2. “This is Halloween”

I debated with myself for quite some time about which version of “This is Halloween” I wanted to post, since I have 3 different versions, including the original from the movie Nightmare Before Christmas.  I absolutely love this song, especially around Halloween, but the problem is that the other two versions I have are just straight up embarassing.  One is by Marilyn Manson.  If that isn’t bad enough, the other is done by Panic! at the Disco.  For that reason, I think I will just stick with the original for this post.  This video also includes the entire beginning from the movie, so enjoy.

1. The Misfits “Halloween”

This is the essential Halloween song.  Nick 13 also made it #1 on his list of Top 5 Halloween Songs and Movies. Discussing some of the lyrics, he says: “There’s the balance of poetry and aggression that made the (original) Misfits so compelling. This song brings to life the feeling of youthful danger on the streets during this once-sacred night like no other.”  You just can’t have a complete list of Top Halloween songs without including this one.  Interestingly, Youtube does not appear to have the Collection II version of the song, which is the version I have in my iTunes.

Obviously these were just my personal picks.  What would be on your list?

Edit:  If I could re-do this list, I totally would replace HIM “Vampire Heart” with The Horrorpops “Hitchcock Starlet”.  And I also would move it way up the list because it is Halloween-eriffic.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Top 10 Favorite Halloween Songs

  1. […] and that means you have to listen to good Halloween music.  Now, I just made a post about my Top 10 Favorite Halloween Songs, but there have been a few artists that I’ve been listening to consistently this month.  The […]

Leave a Reply

