President Obama is STILL President Obama.

Maybe you’ve been living under a rock, or maybe you don’t keep up with American politics.  I’m here to let you know that President Barack Obama has been re-elected.  It was a pretty exciting election, at least for a few hours.  I was just glad that it was officially announced at a reasonable time (just after 11pm EST).  Mostly, I’m glad that I don’t have to listen to ads from either side anymore.

I was able to vote in North Carolina this year, which was very exciting because it was my first year actually going to a polling station, rather than just sending in an absentee ballot, as I had done in New York 4 years ago.  Not only that, but I participated in early voting, which they do not have in New York.  Let me just say that early voting is brilliant.  Shorter lines at polling stations means that it’s easier and faster to vote; therefore, long lines are not as much of a deterrent to vote.  It also means more flexibility, since I actually went during a weekend.  I believe that having only one day to vote is one of the largest deterrents to voter participation.  What if they can’t miss work to wait in line for hours?  What if they can’t make it to the polls on that particular day due to lack of transportation or some other circumstance?  While I do believe that every American should have election day off, I think it’s more realistic to argue for more flexibility with voting within states.

I am extremely pleased that Obama was re-elected.  I’m anxious to see what will happen in the next 4 years.  I’m hoping that in this term he will be a little more aggressive with respect to new policies and reforms he puts forth, since he will not be campaigning for re-election this time around.

So, dare I ask, are you happy and relieved or upset and discouraged that he was re-elected?  And what are your thoughts on early voting?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

