November Date Night!

Daniel and I enjoyed a little date night yesterday evening.  It was one of our best date nights ever, if I do say so myself.  We decided we were just going to do the simple dinner and a movie.  However, date night requires that you put in a little more effort than usual.  For me, that apparently amounts to an extra two hours that I spend primping.  I showered, curled my hair, did my makeup, and I picked out a cuter outfit than what I usually wear.  This also encouraged Daniel to wear a button down shirt and a jacket.  He looked excellent.

We dined at Pizzeria Toro, which was our first time eating there.  It was delicious.  For an appetizer, we tried the Burrata with charred tomatoes and crispy basil.  It was really good, but a little overpriced for the portion we received, and for what it was.  Now, the pizza was amazing and priced very reasonably.  We tried the spicy lamb meatball pizza.  Our bill came in at under $30 for the appetizer and the pizza, and that also included the tip.  It reminded me a little bit of a restaurant in Rochester called Veneto.  They both offer wood-fired pizza, but Veneto also offers a wide selection of pasta dishes.  Between the two establishments, the prices of the pizzas were very similar, but the portions of the pizzas at Pizzeria Toro are slightly bigger.  Despite the weird, uncomfortable chairs that they put you in, and sitting us at a long table with four strangers, it was a positive experience overall.  I complain about the strange seating arrangement because all they have for seating are long tables that are meant for multiple groups of people, which is bad if you’re looking for a more quiet restaurant where you can chat with the person you are dining with more privately.  But other than that, it has a very, very Durham vibe to it.

I admit that before we went to the theater, we stopped at Target to buy candy and Coca-cola Icees.  (They don’t sell Coke Icees at Wynnsong or Northgate.  This is a problem for us, because we love Coke Icees.)  We ended up at Wynnsong to see Skyfall.  It was certainly the best James Bond film I’ve ever seen, which probably doesn’t say much because I’ve only seen maybe 4 or 5.  But the consensus seems to be that it is the best one yet.  I won’t go into too much detail because I don’t want to spoil it, but Javier Bardem’s character did remind me a little bit of The Joker from The Dark Knight.  Nothing specific about him screamed “Joker Ripoff”, but in general the character seemed reminiscent of that kind of villain.  This didn’t cheapen the film even a little bit.  I think the entire movie was a perfect combination of action, humor, and sexiness.  It’s definitely a movie that I want to own when it comes out on DVD and Blu-Ray.

On a side note, we saw a trailer for another Die Hard movie.  I am SO excited about that, words cannot express it.  This of course means that we will need to have a Die Hard movie marathon before we see it in theaters.

I will leave you with Adele’s “Skyfall”, the new Bond film theme song.  I don’t really care for Adele, but I do think this was perfect for the film.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

