Wrapping Up My Mini-Vacation in Unadilla

I’ve survived this week in Unadilla and tomorrow I head back to North Carolina.  I’m so excited.  I’ve missed Daniel, and I’ve missed the warm weather.  It’s supposed to be in the 60s and 70s for most of next week, so I’m pretty anxious for that.  I spent the afternoon packing up my stuff and taking the time to clean out my childhood room, since I never really did that after I moved out a few years ago.  And when I wasn’t packing or cleaning, I was fighting with the puppy.  She really likes to grab socks, and then run away.  She also likes bras, apparently.

Yesterday I took a trip to my brother’s house in Herkimer to visit him and his family.  His kids are adorable.  Gavin is already 7, but he’s really tall.  Tall genes run on both sides of his family.  He’s also pretty smart and is all-around a really good kid, just a pleasure to be around.  I can’t say that about a lot of 7-year-olds.  For Christmas, I bought him some Legos, which he put together immediately.  He was very happy and played with them for the rest of the evening.  Lily is much bigger than when I last saw her.  She loves when people read to her.  I actually bought her a book for Christmas that is about a ballerina named Lily and came with a necklace in the shape of ballet slippers.  Her reaction was to try to hide the book in between the couch cushions and yell, “No, I’m Lily!”.  It was pretty cute.  After she settled down, she let me read it to her (twice) and she really liked it.  I bought Paige a stuffed giraffe, but since she is not even 1 and 1/2 yet, she didn’t really care either way.  Oh well.

I drove to my sister’s apartment earlier this evening so we could exchange gifts.  She was a little drunk, so I don’t know how much she really liked her gift, but she got very excited at the time.  I bought her a Plants vs. Zombies conehead zombie figure.  She loved it.

It's kind of cute.

It’s kind of cute.

She bought me a new scarf and a Starbucks gift set that included some coffee, a ceramic mug, and a travel mug.  I do plan to buy her at least one more small gift and just send it to my parents’ house for my mom to wrap (thanks Mom!).

It’s been a pretty good week, and I’m really happy I got to see my family.  It’s definitely the last time I will get to visit with them for the rest of this year.  I hope I can plan something early next year.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Wrapping Up My Mini-Vacation in Unadilla

  1. […]  I finally get to open the gifts sent from my parents.  My mother sent me home with a few gifts back in November when I visited, but then a few days ago she also sent a gigantic box to Durham full of even more […]

Leave a Reply

