Daily Archives: September 17, 2011

The Summer of ’97: Titanic Hit Theaters, Spice Girls Were Still Popular, and I Ate a Lot of Frooties.

Here I will declare my love for Frooties, made by the Tootsie Roll company.  I’ve always been a chewy candy aficionado, but until a few weeks ago it had been over a decade since I’d last had a Frootie.  I assumed that since it had been so long, they wouldn’t be as good as I’d remembered.  I was wrong.  They were better.  The problem is that I really only know one place where I can buy these, and that is in Franklin, New York.  This poses a problem for me since I live in Rochester.  So, in case anyone reads this and knows of a closer location to buy these candies, please let me know.  Yes, I can buy them online, but shipping is apparently ridiculous for candy.

The blue raspberry ones are my favorite.

It’s important to remember that these Frooties are not the same as the Tootsie Fruit Rolls.  The difference is that the Frooties are a bit smaller and thinner, and come in many more flavors.  The blue ones shown in the picture below are not the same flavor as the blue ones shown in the picture above; the blue ones below are vanilla flavored, which tastes sort of like chewy cake frosting.  Disgusting.  In addition, Frooties come in flavors like watermelon, fruit punch, grape, blue raspberry (above), and green apple.

These are okay, but Frooties are better.

Those nasty blue ones really are a travesty.  Why did they choose a blue wrapper for a vanilla flavored candy?

On a side note, it's been freezing here! I miss North Carolina.